Advertisement

Ready or not, fireworks went on sale on June 28th

Fireworks go on sale for the 4th of July festivities on Thursday, June 28, 2018. Sales of consumer fireworks to begin at noon and end on July 5th at 9:00 pm. However, in unincorporated Snohomish County fireworks can only be discharged on Wednesday, July 4th, from 9:00 am to 11:59 pm.

By Richard Van Winkle, News of Mill Creek.

Ready or not, fireworks went on sale for the 4th of July festivities in Washington State on Thursday, June 28, 2018.

Washington State law allows sales of consumer fireworks to begin on June 28th at noon and end on July 5th at 9:00 pm.

However, in unincorporated Snohomish County fireworks can only be discharged on Wednesday, July 4th, from 9:00 am to 11:59 pm.

In addition, a number of cities and other counties have further restricted or banned the sale and discharge of fireworks. Be sure to check with your local jurisdiction before using fireworks.

In 2017, the State Fire Marshal’s Office received 345 reports of fireworks-related incidents by hospitals, clinics, and fire agencies in Washington State; 262 injuries and 83 fires. The majority of these incidents occurred on the Fourth of July.

Incidents of greatest concern:

  • 262 injuries reported; 11 percent higher than the 10 year average.
  • 83 fires reported due to fireworks use, resulting in a loss of $59,200.
  • 54 injuries and 6 fires were caused by devices that are illegal to own or possess in Washington State.

As of June 8, 2018, 710 retail fireworks stand licenses were issued, a 13.6 percent increase over previous years. 

A state license is required before a city or county can issue a permit to operate a fireworks stand in Washington.

Fireworks must be purchased from a licensed retail fireworks stand during the legal sales period.

Orders for fireworks cannot be placed over the Internet or posted on websites such as Craigslist.  

Residents should talk with family members and guests about the fireworks laws for their area.

The fireworks regulations for North Puget Sound Cities and unincorporated Snohomish County are as follows:

Arlington – Restricted

  • Sales period - June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 9 p.m.; and June 29th through July 4th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight).

Bothell - Restricted

  • Sales period - July 1st, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; July 2nd through July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; and July 4th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m..

Brier - Banned

  • Sales period - June 28th through July 4th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11:59 p.m..

Darrington - Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11:59 p.m..

Edmonds - Banned

Everett - Banned

Gold Bar - Banned

Granite Falls - Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. midnight.

Index - Restricted

  • Sales period – Banned, none.
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. (midnight)

Lake Stevens - Restricted

  • Sales period - June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 9 p.m.; June 29th through July 4th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight).

Lynnwood - Banned

Marysville - Banned

Mill Creek - Banned

Monroe - Restricted

  • Sales period - July 1st through July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight).

Mountlake Terrace - Banned

Mukilteo - Banned

Stanwood - Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; and July 5th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - June 28th to July 5th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m..

Snohomish– Restricted

  • Sales period – July 1st to July 4th, 9 a.m. to 10 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 1st to July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11:00 p.m..

Unincorporated Snohomish County – Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5th, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. (noon).
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11:59 p.m..

Woodway - banned

Tags: 

Our featured sponsor

Google matched content

Google ad